Acclaimed jury revealed for DIFF 2015 Muhr Awards

Judges include Oscar nominees, screenwriters, directors and film critics from around the world
Ali F. Mostafa joins the judging panel.
Ali F. Mostafa joins the judging panel.


The Dubai International Film Festival (DIFF) has announced the panel of renowned film industry professionals that will make up the jury for the prestigious Muhr Awards at the Festival’s 12th edition.

Boasting a line-up brimming with award-winning international and regional directors and actors, the Muhr Awards Jury will be tasked with recognising the best talent from the Arab and wider world throughout the competition, which will run from 9th to 16th December, 2015.

The annual Muhr Awards at DIFF have recognised more than 280 cinematic works to date, with four categories making up this year’s Awards; Muhr Emirati, Muhr Features, Muhr Shorts and Muhr Gulf Shorts.

DIFF’s Artistic Director, Masoud Amralla Al Ali, commented: “With such an incredibly talented line-up of films partaking in each of the Muhr Awards categories this year it is only fitting that our Jury is rife with award-winning filmmakers who will understand what makes a truly great film. It is especially pleasing that we are able to welcome back previous winners of the Muhr Awards to be a part of the Jury this year – it is testament to the opportunities that can be realised for filmmakers who are recognised at our Festival.”

Heading up DIFF’s Muhr Feature Competition Jury is the Oscar nominated screenwriter, director and producer Deepa Mehta. Mehta will be joined by Egyptian actor Khaled El Nabawy, Emirati poet and filmmaker Nujoom Al-Ghanem - who has herself taken an impressive three Muhr Awards at DIFF, and finally the winner of the IWC Filmmaker Award in 2012, Iraqi filmmaker Maysoon Alpachachi.

The Muhr Short and Gulf Short Competition Jury will be headed up by Oscar-nominated Icelandic director Fridrik Thor Fridriksson. Joining him is Tunisian director Hinde Boujemaa, and Emirati director and producer Ali F. Mostafa - winner of the Muhr Award for Best Emirati Filmmaker (2007).

The Muhr Emirati Competition Jury will be headed up by the talented double Oscar-winning Danish producer Kim Magnusson. He will be joined by renowned Egyptian journalist Abdul Sattar Naji, and Dr Hessa Lootah, the first Emirati female television director.

The Muhr Awards competition will run throughout the duration of the Festival, from December 9th to 16th, 2015.

Most Popular

Editor's Choice

StarzPlay’s tech powers India’s Lionsgate Play
Provides managed services, developed by StarzPlay, to mark successful launch of Lionsgate Play ...
Subscribe to Digital Studio Middle East
The latest editor of Digital Studio Middle East, the foremost and most respected platform for ...
Dubai's Faisal Hashmi working on feature film
10 short films in 10 years has earned Faisal Hashmi international plaudits at film festival, ...

Don't Miss a Story